Comparisons

Networx vs Thumbtack: contractor buying models compared

Compare Networx and Thumbtack by charge event, competition, territory controls, remedies, and the sales work each platform leaves with contractors.

Short answer

Networx distributes requests; Thumbtack lets customers pick.

The longer answer

Networx vs Thumbtack is mainly a choice between provider-distributed requests and customer-selected marketplace contacts. Networx publishes shared and exclusive per-lead plans, while Thumbtack charges for direct leads that match job preferences and for opportunities only after a customer responds. Neither publishes one universal local price. theBuildd recommends comparing live settings, recipient rules, net credits or refunds, sales labor, and cost per signed job before choosing.

In this article

Compare Networx vs Thumbtack at the product level, not through a brand-level review score. Networx publishes separate Pay Per Lead and Exclusive Leads plans. Thumbtack separates direct leads, where a customer selects and contacts a pro, from Opportunities, where a pro contacts the customer first. These are not two interchangeable shared-lead marketplaces.

Disclosure and method: theBuildd publishes this comparison and sells residential home-improvement leads. We compete for part of the same contractor budget. This is a desk review of public US contractor documentation, not first-hand use of either platform. Sources were checked on September 26, 2026. We compared charge event, provider distribution, customer choice, price control, territory settings, remedies, pause controls, and contractor workload. We do not predict lead quality, close rate, jobs, revenue, or return.

Networx vs Thumbtack is a four-path comparison

The four paths move acquisition risk differently. Choose the relevant row before comparing costs or outcomes.

Product path Event that creates the lead or charge Competition rule published by the provider Price control visible publicly Work left with the contractor
Networx Pay Per Lead Networx delivers a request under the selected categories and budget One request can go to as many as four contractors Broad published per-lead range; exact category price appears in the account for the coverage area Respond, qualify, schedule, estimate, follow up, and sell
Networx Exclusive Leads Networx delivers a request and deducts its listed value under the published prepaid model Networx says it sends the lead to one contractor Broad published per-lead range; category price and budget appear in the account Respond to text/email or an attempted phone handoff, qualify, estimate, follow up, and sell
Thumbtack direct lead A customer contacts the pro from search and the job matches active preferences Thumbtack limits contacts from search during an initial period, but the path is not one-recipient delivery Pro sets an exact service-level lead price; weekly budget limits direct-lead spend Respond, qualify, schedule, estimate, follow up, and sell
Thumbtack Opportunity The pro contacts the customer first and pays the shown price only if the customer responds The customer began elsewhere in the marketplace and may hear from interested pros Price is shown before outreach; the resulting charge sits outside the weekly direct-lead budget Win a response, qualify, schedule, estimate, follow up, and sell

This table compares published buying mechanics, not expected results. A lower charge event can still demand more office or estimator labor. The marketplace versus exclusive-provider guide explains the broader model distinction; this page stays with the current Networx and Thumbtack paths.

Current first-party pages set the evidence boundary

Networx’s public contractor Help Center pages show publication dates from December 2022 through June 2023. They remained accessible and stated the terms described here when checked on 26 September 2026. A current dashboard price, accepted order, or later written term can be newer and should control the purchase.

Thumbtack’s current Help Center required browser rendering in this research environment. Its lead, price, budget, preferences, refund, and stop-lead articles were readable on the observation date, but most did not display a publication or update date. The Quality Commitment Terms displayed “Last updated December 5, 2022.” Thumbtack’s general Terms of Use returned no readable body here, so this article does not infer contract language from the Help Center.

The comparison excludes star ratings, anonymous complaints, testimonials, and vendor success claims. Those sources can expose questions worth asking, but they do not set a current account price, recipient rule, remedy, or cancellation term. Silence also stays silence. If a page does not explain unused funds or pending charges, the article calls that unknown rather than saying the term does not exist.

Networx changes competition through the selected plan

Networx Pay Per Lead and Exclusive Leads are different purchases. The Pay Per Lead page, dated 7 December 2022 and checked 26 September 2026, says a single request can go to up to four contractors. It says delivery occurs by text and email in real time after Networx’s standard screening process.

The contractor still has to establish whether the person can hire, the property and project fit, the address sits inside a profitable route, and the next step belongs on the calendar. “Screening” does not state that the job is sold, reachable, technically appropriate, or profitable.

The Exclusive Leads page, dated 29 March 2023 and checked 26 September 2026, says the lead is sent to one contractor. During business hours, Networx says it will “try to call as many leads as possible” to verify the request and “attempt” a direct phone transfer. Those verbs matter. The page does not promise that every homeowner is reached, verified, or transferred. Text and email delivery still occur.

Networx describes both shared and exclusive plans as using a prepaid credit system on that page, with each delivered lead deducted from a predetermined budget. Its separate billing page also documents pre-pay and post-pay paths. Confirm which billing path is available for the exact plan and account instead of joining those statements into an unsupported universal rule.

For a replacement shortlist rather than this head-to-head decision, use the Networx alternatives guide.

Thumbtack bills two different customer paths

Thumbtack begins with marketplace search and customer selection. Its lead-pricing help page, checked 26 September 2026, says a pro automatically pays the set lead price when a customer reaches out directly from search results and the job matches active job preferences.

That is a direct lead. It establishes a matched customer contact under Thumbtack’s current rules, not a booked estimate or signed project. The contractor still owns discovery, qualification, scheduling, estimating, follow-up, and sale.

An Opportunity reverses the first action. Thumbtack shows a potential job, the pro decides whether to reach out, and the displayed price is charged only if the customer responds. Its budget page states that Opportunity charges are separate from the weekly lead budget. Keep these records separate from direct leads because the customer path and charge event differ.

Thumbtack path First actor Charge event to verify Reporting label
Direct lead Customer contacts the pro from search Matching contact under active preferences Direct lead
Opportunity Pro contacts a customer who has an open opportunity Customer responds to the pro Opportunity response

The Thumbtack Pro review owns the deeper single-product intent. In this comparison, the important point is that neither Thumbtack path is equivalent to a Networx-delivered request merely because all can be called a lead.

Recipient count and customer choice are different rules

Networx describes how many contractors receive a request from Networx. Thumbtack describes how customers contact pros from search. Those are not interchangeable forms of exclusivity.

Networx Pay Per Lead can distribute one request to as many as four contractors. Networx Exclusive Leads says the provider sends the request to one contractor. The exclusive statement limits provider distribution. The reviewed page does not state that the homeowner loses the ability to find or contact another business independently.

Thumbtack’s Quality Commitment Terms, last updated 5 December 2022 and checked 26 September 2026, say customers can contact no more than five pros from search results per project within four hours of the first contact. After four hours, customers can contact additional pros. That is limited marketplace competition for a time, not one-recipient lead delivery.

The same terms describe a paid-lead phone-number policy and say Thumbtack uses identity matching to verify customer phone numbers. They also state that the policy does not mean the customer will answer. A verified number and a reached homeowner are separate funnel events.

If one-recipient delivery is essential, Networx Exclusive Leads is the closer fit of the four paths. If customer profile selection and controlled marketplace exposure matter more, Thumbtack direct leads may fit. Neither fact proves that the source will produce a lower cost per signed job.

Price controls differ more than published ranges suggest

There is no defensible national answer to “Which is cheaper?” The providers publish different controls and leave the decisive local number inside the account.

Networx’s lead-cost page, dated 1 June 2023 and checked 26 September 2026, still lists Pay Per Lead at $10 to $100+ and Exclusive Leads at $15 to $120+. It directs contractors to category prices in the dashboard or app for the selected coverage area. These are broad still-published ranges, not a local quote, a cap, or an expected job cost.

The Networx billing page, dated 29 March 2023 and checked the same day, describes:

  • pre-pay budgets funded weekly, bi-weekly, or monthly, with each lead price deducted from the balance; and
  • post-pay accounts with an activation fee, weekly limit, selected billing day, and charges for leads received.

The page does not state the activation-fee amount or which choices every contractor receives. Ask for those details in the account order.

Thumbtack does not publish one universal service-and-market price on the reviewed pages. Its exact lead-price page, checked 26 September 2026, says a pro sets the exact amount paid for a lead for each service. It also says minimum lead prices may change and a price at or near the minimum may increase automatically when minimums change, with notice.

The weekly-budget page, checked the same day, says the budget is the most a pro will spend on direct leads across services in a week. Reaching the limit removes the business from search until the following Monday unless the budget changes. The page describes recommended, current, custom, and unlimited budget options. Opportunity charges remain outside that direct-lead budget.

Compare the local account values in one unit:

Cost field Networx Thumbtack
Unit value Category lead price in selected plan and area Exact lead price set for each service, or shown Opportunity price
Period control Pre-pay renewal budget or post-pay weekly limit, subject to account path Weekly direct-lead budget; Opportunities accounted for separately
Remedy adjustment Approved lead credits Approved refunds or credits under current policy
Decision metric Net acquisition cost per signed job Net acquisition cost per signed job

The cost-per-booked-job guide explains why a charged contact and an accepted job cannot share one denominator.

Save territory and targeting settings before the test

A platform cannot be judged fairly when nobody can reconstruct the settings that produced a charged lead. Save the configuration before the first purchase and again after every change.

Networx’s plan-settings page, dated 12 May 2023 and checked 26 September 2026, documents controls for budget, renewal frequency, lead categories, center ZIP, service radius, included ZIP list, night and weekend delivery, and neighboring-state delivery. It also describes pausing and reactivating the plan.

Thumbtack’s job-preferences page, checked 26 September 2026, says preferences cover where the pro works, availability, wanted job types, and budget. It tells pros to recheck job types, travel areas, availability, and other settings before turning preferences on because matching leads are paid.

Save these fields for both providers:

  1. service or lead category;
  2. included ZIPs, radius, or travel area;
  3. job-type and size selections visible in the account;
  4. availability and delivery-hour settings;
  5. plan or lead-path name;
  6. unit price and period limit;
  7. pause state and effective time; and
  8. the policy version governing a delivered lead.

Judge an old lead against the settings that existed when it arrived, not a cleaner configuration created later. The qualified-lead definition guide can help the contractor add its own property, project, territory, timing, and decision-authority rules after the platform match.

Credits and refunds solve different failures

Networx publishes lead credits. Thumbtack publishes refunds and courtesy credits. Neither policy is a pay-only-if-you-win promise.

Policy checked 26 September 2026 Networx Thumbtack
Request window More than 14 days after delivery is ineligible Most non-automatic requests must be made within 45 days of the charge
Examples listed as potentially eligible Disconnected/fake contact; unselected service or area; duplicate Networx lead; no authority to hire; employment inquiry Material job change; certain Opportunity first-response rejections; Terms violation; certain calendar mismatch; invalid phone; duplicate charge/lead
Sales outcomes not enough by themselves Consumer hired someone else, changed mind, was shopping, or contractor did not win Customer hired another pro; policy also states not every lead that fails to pan out is refundable
Remedy destination Account credit under the published policy Approved refund goes to Thumbtack balance by default; original payment requests have extra conditions and timing
Decision authority Networx says reviewed resolutions are final Thumbtack says case-by-case refunds are at its sole discretion

The Networx Lead Credit Policy, dated 24 March 2023, lists the conditions above and the 14-day boundary. It does not publish an approval percentage and does not describe every credit as a cash refund.

Thumbtack’s pro refund policy says some situations are handled automatically, while other requests are reviewed case by case within 45 days. Approved refunds return to the Thumbtack balance by default. The page says a pro seeking the original form of payment must contact Thumbtack within 10 business days after approval and meet the listed conditions. Prepaid packages and promotional balances have separate limitations.

Save the current page and the evidence required before the test. Report delivered lead, disputed lead, approved remedy, denied remedy, and replacement purchase as separate events. A credit changes net source spend. It does not turn an invalid record into a sold job.

Pause controls are clear, but some exit terms stay unknown

Both providers publish ways to stop new lead flow without proving every exit consequence.

Networx says on its contract page, dated 29 March 2023, that contractors do not have to sign a contract to receive leads and can use an adjustable monthly budget. Its pause page, dated 1 June 2023, says the account can be paused through the dashboard or app for up to 30 days and will not receive leads during that time.

Those pages do not resolve treatment of an unused prepaid balance, a pending post-pay charge, an activation fee, or every account-closure condition. Get those answers in the accepted order or written account terms.

Thumbtack’s stop-leads page, checked 26 September 2026, lists several controls:

  • hide the business from search for up to 30 days to pause all new leads;
  • turn off job preferences for selected services;
  • remove a service no longer offered; or
  • deactivate the account permanently, which the page says deletes account information and cannot be undone.

That Help Center explanation is useful operating guidance, but it is not a substitute for the unreadable general Terms of Use in this research environment. Confirm remaining balance, pending charge, data access, and any other account-specific consequence before taking an irreversible step.

Choose the product path that matches the sales office

There is no universal Networx or Thumbtack winner. The best fit depends on the kind of competition, control, and intake work the contractor can handle.

Networx Pay Per Lead fits competitive intake

Choose it when the office wants provider-delivered requests, accepts that one request can reach as many as four contractors, and can respond without letting competition consume unpriced sales labor. It is a weak fit when every purchased request must have a one-recipient provider rule.

Networx Exclusive Leads fits one-recipient variable buying

Choose it when one-recipient delivery from Networx is the key condition and account-level category prices work for the territory. It is a weak fit when the office assumes every request receives a completed verification call or phone transfer. The public page promises attempts, not completed handoffs for all leads.

Thumbtack direct leads fit profile-selected demand

Choose them when a complete profile, precise job preferences, service-level prices, and a weekly budget fit the acquisition process. The customer initiates contact from search. It is a weak fit when the office needs provider-exclusive delivery or treats a matching contact as a scheduled estimate.

Thumbtack Opportunities fit selective outreach

Choose them when the pro wants to inspect open opportunities and accept a displayed price only if the customer responds. Keep the spend outside the direct-lead weekly budget in reporting. It is a weak fit when staff cannot absorb proactive outreach or when an initial response is being mistaken for project acceptance.

The lead-provider selection guide covers the written questions that apply beyond these two vendors.

Test both platforms through one recorded funnel

A defensible test controls the contractor’s own behavior while preserving genuine product differences.

  1. Save the live offer. Capture plan/path name, service, area, unit price, budget, recipient rule, remedy, pause controls, and billing terms.
  2. Define an accepted inquiry. Use one written property, project, territory, timing, and authority standard where the products allow.
  3. Keep the paths separate. Do not blend Networx shared with exclusive or Thumbtack direct leads with Opportunities.
  4. Assign the same intake standard. Record delivery, first attempt, two-way contact, rejection reason, appointment, estimate, and signed job.
  5. Reconcile every charge. Preserve approved and denied credits/refunds beside the original item.
  6. Count internal acquisition work. Add attributable office and estimator labor using the contractor’s recorded hours and loaded rates.
  7. Mature the cohort. Compare sources only after the same normal decision window has passed.

Use formulas with actual records, not an invented conversion scenario:

Net acquisition cost = provider charges - approved monetary credits or refunds + attributable sales labor

Cost per signed job = net acquisition cost ÷ signed jobs from the same mature cohort

If a cohort produces no signed jobs, report the net acquisition cost and zero signed outcomes. Do not omit the cohort or divide by a future job that has not happened. Collected gross profit then decides whether an apparently workable cost per signed job supports the business.

A one-buyer provider solves a different constraint

If Networx’s shared plan creates too much provider competition, Networx Exclusive Leads may solve that condition without changing vendors. If Thumbtack’s customer-selected marketplace and service-level controls remain profitable, switching away would remove a useful channel rather than fix a problem.

theBuildd is a third model, not the automatic winner. There is one buyer per lead through theBuildd. The homeowner may still seek other quotes independently. Your team makes the qualifying call, and results are not guaranteed. Its residential coverage is agreed by trade and ZIP code, so it is not a fit for a contractor requiring an unsupported trade, unavailable territory, marketplace profile discovery, or payment only after a signed job.

Use the current pricing page to compare fixed plan terms with the actual Networx and Thumbtack account values. If one-buyer delivery addresses the failed condition, ask about trade and ZIP fit. If it does not, keep the profitable platform and improve the measured constraint instead.

Comparing marketplace spend with one-buyer supply?

Bring the live plan, targeting settings, remedy terms, and source outcomes so the buying units stay visible.

See current pricing →

Frequently asked questions

Is Networx or Thumbtack cheaper for contractors?
There is no universal price winner. Networx publishes broad shared and exclusive lead ranges, while exact category prices depend on the account and area. Thumbtack pros set service-level lead prices and a weekly budget. Compare actual charges after approved credits or refunds through the same signed-job outcome.
Are Networx leads exclusive?
It depends on the selected plan. Networx says one Pay Per Lead request can go to as many as four contractors. Its Exclusive Leads page says the request is sent to one contractor. Confirm the plan name, recipient rule, local category price, and current order terms before funding the account.
How does Thumbtack charge contractors?
Thumbtack says a direct lead triggers an automatic charge when a customer contacts the pro from search and the job matches active preferences. An Opportunity starts with the pro contacting the customer, and the displayed price is charged only if that customer responds. Opportunity charges sit outside the weekly lead budget.
Which platform has the better lead refund policy?
The remedies use different labels, windows, conditions, and destinations, so neither is universally better. Networx publishes credit-request criteria and a fourteen-day deadline. Thumbtack documents automatic and discretionary refunds, with most case-by-case requests due within forty-five days. Save the live policies and compare approved outcomes, not stated availability alone.
Can contractors pause Networx and Thumbtack leads?
Networx says contractors can pause an account for up to thirty days through its dashboard or app. Thumbtack says a pro can hide the business for up to thirty days or pause preferences by service. Neither statement answers every question about unused balances, pending charges, or accepted account terms, so confirm those separately.
When should a contractor choose neither platform?
Choose neither when the available project categories, territory controls, remedy rules, or local prices fail the written acquisition standard. A platform is also a poor fit when nobody owns rapid intake and follow-up. Keep any source only after a mature cohort produces acceptable cost per signed job and collected gross profit.
NetworxThumbtackcontractor leadslead marketplace comparison
Written by

Sym

Founder, theBuildd

Sym founded theBuildd and runs its lead operation day to day: setting qualification criteria, handling territory disputes, and reviewing the delivered leads contractors accept and reject. He writes from that position. The economics here are the ones the business runs on, not figures gathered from other people's blog posts.

Writes fromrunning an exclusive-lead operation across eight home-improvement trades in the United States.

DisclosuretheBuildd sells the service discussed in these articles. Comparisons name competitors and rank theBuildd among them; where theBuildd is not the better fit, the article says so.

Product terms and competitor details in this article were checked on .

The honest comparison

Comparing lead sources? Start with the math.

Compare current plans, delivery terms and replacement criteria before choosing how to buy leads.

Agreed trade and ZIP coverage · One buyer per lead · No outcome guarantees