Comparisons

theBuildd vs Networx: an honest contractor comparison

Compare two contractor lead services by recipient count, billing unit, handoff, account controls, remedies, commitment and operating fit.

Short answer

It depends how you want to buy: flat plan or per lead.

The longer answer

The choice in theBuildd vs Networx depends on how you want to buy leads. Networx offers adjustable per-lead plans, including a shared plan and an exclusive plan. theBuildd uses published trial and recurring prices, sends each lead to one buyer through its service, and leaves qualification to your team. Compare the exact Networx plan, local unit price, recipient count, remedy, and your cost per signed job.

In this article

Compare theBuildd vs Networx at the plan level, not through a shared-versus-exclusive slogan. Networx publishes both a Pay Per Lead plan that can distribute one request to several contractors and an Exclusive Leads plan that sends it to one. Start by naming which Networx product is in the quote.

Disclosure: theBuildd publishes this article and sells residential home-improvement leads. We have not purchased or tested Networx leads, and this is not a first-hand Networx review. We compared each provider’s published terms for distribution, pricing unit, handoff, controls, remedies and commitment. Networx sources were checked on September 26, 2026. We rank no provider as universally better and make no prediction about lead quality, close rate or return.

The decision is operational. Networx gives a contractor adjustable per-lead buying and detailed account controls. theBuildd gives a contractor published plan prices and one-buyer delivery through theBuildd, while the homeowner remains free to seek other quotes independently. Your team makes the qualifying call in theBuildd model.

theBuildd vs Networx differs most by plan and billing unit

Networx’s Exclusive Leads plan is the closest like-for-like comparison with theBuildd because both publish a one-recipient rule. Networx Pay Per Lead is a different product: it has a lower published price range, but the same request can go to as many as four contractors.

Decision factor Networx Pay Per Lead Networx Exclusive Leads theBuildd Lead Generation
Provider distribution One request can go to as many as four contractors Request goes to one contractor One buyer per lead through theBuildd; homeowner may seek other quotes independently
Published price unit, checked September 26, 2026 $10 to $100+ per lead $15 to $120+ per lead One-time entry offer: $200 for 4–7 leads; recurring plans have fixed period prices
Qualification and handoff Networx says it uses its standard screening; contractor handles the sales conversation Same screening; Networx says it tries during business hours to verify requests and attempt phone transfers Contractor performs qualification; text and email delivery within 10 minutes
Budget model Per-lead deductions or charges within a selected budget Per-lead deductions from a prepaid budget on the reviewed product page One-time trial, bi-weekly plan or monthly plan
Account controls stated publicly Budget, renewal, categories, coverage radius, delivery settings and pause Budget and billing cycle controls are stated on the product page Trade and ZIP coverage agreed with the contractor
Failed-lead treatment Account credit when the published eligibility rules are met Same published credit policy Replacement, not refund, when replacement criteria are met
Best fit Team wanting adjustable unit buying and able to compete for a request Team wanting a one-recipient Networx product and variable unit spending Residential contractor wanting one-buyer delivery under a fixed plan price

The units do not become equivalent merely because each row contains a dollar sign. A shared Networx request, a Networx exclusive request and a theBuildd opt-in carry different distribution terms. Compare each as a separate cohort rather than blending all three into one cost-per-lead average.

Competitor sources: Networx Help Center, “Pay Per Lead”, “Exclusive Leads” and “How much do leads cost?”, checked September 26, 2026. These pages support Networx’s statements about its own products, not an independent quality judgment.

Our comparison method keeps published promises separate from outcomes

We reviewed Networx’s current, publicly accessible Help Center pages and its contractor signup path. The product pages show modification dates from December 2022 through June 2023, so the article reports what remained published and accessible on September 26, 2026. A live dashboard quote or accepted account terms can be newer and should control your purchase.

The comparison uses seven criteria:

  1. how many contractors can receive a request from the provider;
  2. what event creates a charge;
  3. what screening or contact occurs before handoff;
  4. what the contractor still has to do;
  5. how budget, territory and delivery can be changed;
  6. what remedy applies to an invalid lead; and
  7. what commitment or exit condition applies.

We did not use testimonials, star ratings or forum complaints to predict results. Those sources can reveal questions, but they cannot establish a current product term. We also did not infer that a feature is absent merely because a reviewed page did not mention it. Unknowns stay unknown until the provider puts them in the quote or order.

Networx sells two lead products that should not be blended

Networx Pay Per Lead is the lower-priced published option. Its help page says a single request can go to as many as four contractors, arrives in real time by text and email, and receives what Networx calls its standard screening process. A homeowner also receives a link to the contractor’s profile.

This can fit a staffed sales office that wants variable buying and accepts provider-created competition. The visible unit can be lower than an exclusive product. The office then carries the work of responding quickly, qualifying the request, standing out from other recipients and deciding whether the full sales cost still works.

Networx Exclusive Leads changes the recipient rule. Networx says the request is sent to one contractor. During business hours, it says it tries to call as many leads as possible to verify the homeowner’s request and attempt a direct phone transfer. “Tries” and “as many as possible” are material limits. The page does not promise completed phone verification or a transfer for every delivered lead.

Each exclusive request also arrives by text and email. The reviewed page describes a prepaid budget, with the listed price for each delivered lead deducted from that balance. A contractor can change the budget or billing cycle through the dashboard.

That makes Networx Exclusive Leads the fairer product to place beside theBuildd. Even then, the handoff differs. Networx may attempt a call and transfer during business hours. theBuildd delivers by text and email within 10 minutes, and the contractor performs qualification.

If your concern is the recipient count rather than the brand, the exclusive versus shared lead guide explains the distribution boundary in more detail. This article stays with the two named providers.

Published prices show different ways to control spending

Networx publishes per-lead ranges. Its pricing help page lists $10 to more than $100 for Pay Per Lead and $15 to more than $120 for Exclusive Leads. It directs contractors to the dashboard or mobile app for exact category prices in the selected coverage area.

Those ranges are useful for identifying the billing unit, but they are not a local quote. The actual category, location, plan and account settings determine the price available to a contractor. The reviewed public pages do not state one universal minimum budget or the amount of the post-pay activation fee.

Networx also publishes two billing paths. Pre-pay accounts fund a weekly, bi-weekly or monthly budget, then deduct the price of each delivered lead. Post-pay accounts pay an activation fee, set a weekly spending limit and are charged for the leads received on the selected billing day.

Competitor sources: Networx Help Center, “How much do leads cost?” and “When/How am I billed?”, checked September 26, 2026. The activation-fee amount is not stated on the reviewed billing page.

theBuildd publishes fixed plan prices. The one-time trial costs $200 and delivers 4–7 exclusive leads. Lead Generation costs $2,000 for two weeks, or $1,800 with LAUNCH25. The monthly plan costs $3,000, or $2,500 with LAUNCH25, and specifies 10–15 exclusive leads per week. Coverage is agreed by trade and ZIP code.

In every use of “exclusive” here, the precise theBuildd promise is one buyer per lead through theBuildd. The homeowner may still seek other quotes independently. Results are not guaranteed.

The Lead Generation + SEO plan costs $3,500 per month, and LAUNCH25 does not apply. It is not included in the table because a lead-plus-SEO bundle is not comparable with a per-lead marketplace unit.

The trial provides one narrow comparable calculation

Dividing the $200 trial by its stated 4–7 delivered leads produces a visible calculated range of about $28.57 to $50 per lead:

  • $200 divided by 7 leads is approximately $28.57.
  • $200 divided by 4 leads is $50.

That arithmetic describes only the one-time trial. It is not a recurring theBuildd unit price, a Networx quote, a quality score or a forecast of cost per job. Networx Pay Per Lead can fall below or above that range, while its Exclusive Leads range can also overlap it. Recipient rule, validity and sales outcome still have to be measured.

The recurring plans should be compared by total period spend and mature results, not forced into an unsupported unit estimate. Review current theBuildd pricing immediately before buying because offer details can change after this article’s checked date.

Handoff and qualification decide which office can use the lead

A lead source is partly a staffing decision. Networx Pay Per Lead sends the record in real time through text and email after its stated screening. The contractor still needs to respond, establish scope and authority, set an appointment when appropriate, estimate and sell.

Networx Exclusive Leads adds an attempted call step during business hours. If a phone transfer succeeds, the office receives a different handoff from a text-and-email record. The public page does not state that every request will be reached or transferred, so a buyer should ask how attempted, reached, verified and transferred leads appear in reporting.

theBuildd sends the lead by text and email within 10 minutes. Your team makes the qualifying call. That boundary should be attractive only if someone owns the response. One-buyer delivery removes another theBuildd buyer from the same record, but it does not make the homeowner reachable, ready, qualified or sold.

Neither model excuses weak intake. Assign an owner and backup, record the delivery timestamp, preserve every contact attempt and use the same qualification fields for every source. Otherwise, the comparison measures enthusiasm for a new vendor rather than the product.

Credits and replacements solve different problems

Networx uses account credits under a published policy. It lists disconnected or fake contact information, an unselected service or area, a duplicate Networx lead, lack of authority to hire, and employment inquiries among the reasons that can qualify for a credit request.

It also lists exclusions. A consumer who hired someone else, changed their mind, was shopping or did not award the job does not qualify on those facts alone. Requests made more than 14 days after delivery are ineligible, and reviewed resolutions are final according to the page.

Competitor source: Networx Help Center, “Lead Credit Policy”, checked September 26, 2026. The published policy should be compared with the terms shown in the contractor’s current account.

theBuildd uses replacement rather than refund when a bad lead meets the replacement criteria. The complete criteria are not stated in the canonical facts available for this article, so get the definition, reporting deadline, required evidence and replacement timing in writing before purchase.

Neither remedy means pay only when a job sells. A valid homeowner can choose another contractor, delay the project or decide not to proceed. Keep invalid-record remedies separate from contact, appointment and signed-job outcomes.

Networx offers more self-service controls in its public documentation

Networx documents budget, renewal frequency, lead categories, coverage radius and custom delivery settings in its dashboard and app. Its settings page also explains how to change a center ZIP and radius, view the included ZIP list, control night or weekend delivery, and disable neighboring-state leads.

The company says a plan can be paused from the dashboard or app for as long as 30 days. Its contract page says contractors do not have to sign a contract to receive leads and can use a monthly budget that changes with business needs.

These are meaningful strengths for a contractor whose crew capacity changes often. A pause or budget edit can be cleaner than replacing the source. The public pages do not answer every exit question, including treatment of an unused prepaid balance, pending charges or account-specific conditions. Ask those questions before funding the account.

Competitor sources: Networx Help Center, “Manage Plans - Settings”, “How can I pause my account?” and “Do you have a contract?”, checked September 26, 2026.

theBuildd recurring agreements are month to month and require 10 days’ written notice before the next billing date to cancel. The plan covers residential home improvement in agreed trades and ZIP codes. That provides a known recurring price, but it is less granular than buying one additional lead at an account-level price.

Choose the provider that matches your buying constraint

Networx is the stronger fit when adjustable per-lead spending and self-service controls matter most. theBuildd is the stronger fit when one-buyer delivery under published plan prices matters more and the office is prepared to make the qualifying call.

Networx Pay Per Lead fits when

  • your office wants a lower published entry unit and accepts a request sent to as many as four contractors;
  • sales staff can respond quickly and compete without letting estimator time disappear from acquisition cost;
  • budget, category, radius and pause controls are important; and
  • the live account price and credit rules produce acceptable cost per signed job.

It is not the fit when the business requires one-recipient distribution for every purchased lead or lacks the capacity to work a competitive request promptly.

Networx Exclusive Leads fits when

  • you want one-recipient delivery while keeping variable per-lead spending;
  • an attempted verification call and possible phone transfer during business hours suits your intake process;
  • you value the Networx dashboard controls; and
  • the exact local price and prepaid budget fit your cash plan.

It is not the fit when you assume every lead receives a completed verification call or transfer. Networx’s own page uses qualified language about those attempts.

theBuildd fits when

  • you serve US residential home-improvement customers in an agreed trade and ZIP territory;
  • you want one buyer per lead through theBuildd, while accepting that the homeowner may seek other quotes independently;
  • your team can make the qualifying call after text-and-email delivery; and
  • a fixed trial, two-week or monthly purchase fits better than account-level unit buying.

It is not the fit when every lead must become a completed project, when you require a promised revenue, close-rate or return outcome, when you require cash refunds for bad leads, or when your office cannot own qualification. The contractor performs that work.

For a broader switch decision rather than this two-brand comparison, use the Networx alternatives guide. It compares several replacement models and keeps that separate search intent out of this page.

Run a controlled test before moving the whole budget

The fairest test keeps trade, territory, timing and internal handling as consistent as the products allow. It also separates Networx Pay Per Lead from Networx Exclusive Leads. Combining them would hide the effect of recipient count and price.

  1. Save the live offer. Record the Networx plan name, category price, budget, billing method, included ZIPs, recipient rule, credit policy and exit terms. Record the theBuildd plan, agreed trade and ZIP codes, delivery method, replacement criteria and cancellation date.
  2. Define one accepted lead. Use the same residential scope, service boundary, minimum job rule, duplicate window and authority-to-hire definition where the agreements permit.
  3. Keep response behavior stable. Route both sources to the same trained intake team. Record delivery and first-attempt timestamps without pretending a possible Networx phone transfer is identical to a delivered record.
  4. Tag the full funnel. Track delivered lead, valid contact, reached homeowner, appointment, estimate, signed job, completed job and collected gross profit by original source.
  5. Record remedies separately. Mark approved Networx credits and theBuildd replacements. Neither should be counted as a signed job, and a replacement should not cause the original lead to be counted twice.
  6. Count staff work. Qualification, disputes, travel mismatch and estimator time are acquisition costs even when they never appear on the vendor invoice.
  7. Wait for comparable cohorts. Use the same maturation window and do not compare this month’s spend with jobs created by older leads from another source.

The deciding equation is simple: total source spend divided by signed jobs from the same mature cohort. Add internal sales labor when it materially differs. A cheaper delivered lead can be the more expensive acquisition source, and an exclusive lead can still lose if its higher price does not improve usable outcomes enough.

Make the decision from the exact plan, not the brand name

Choose Networx Pay Per Lead for adjustable, competitive lead buying. Choose Networx Exclusive Leads for a one-recipient Networx product with variable unit pricing. Choose theBuildd for one-buyer delivery through theBuildd under a published fixed plan, provided your team is ready to qualify every arrival.

Before deciding, ask Networx for the current category price, budget, recipient count, billing method, credit rules and treatment of unused funds. Ask theBuildd to confirm current coverage, the agreed trade and ZIP codes, replacement criteria and cancellation timing. Put both offers into the same tracking sheet.

Then review the current theBuildd plans against the exact Networx quote in your account. The published comparison can expose the tradeoffs. Your signed terms and mature contractor data decide the fit.

Frequently asked questions

Are Networx leads shared with other contractors?
It depends on the plan. Networx says one Pay Per Lead request can go to as many as four contractors. Its Exclusive Leads plan sends the request to one contractor. Confirm the plan name, recipient rule and any account-specific terms before treating every Networx lead as either shared or exclusive.
How much do Networx leads cost?
Networx publishes broad ranges of $10 to more than $100 for Pay Per Lead and $15 to more than $120 for Exclusive Leads. It says exact category prices appear in the dashboard or app and depend on the coverage area. Your live account price, not the national range, belongs in a budget comparison.
Does Networx require a contract?
Networx states that contractors do not have to sign a contract to receive leads and can use an adjustable monthly budget. Its help center also publishes pause controls. Confirm cancellation, unused balance, pending charge and account-specific terms in writing because the reviewed public page does not resolve every exit question.
Does either provider promise that every lead becomes a job?
No result should be assumed from either provider. Networx bills or deducts for delivered leads under its plan and credit rules. theBuildd replaces leads that meet its replacement criteria rather than refunding them. Your office still has to qualify, estimate and sell, and results are not guaranteed.
How should a contractor test theBuildd against Networx?
Use one trade, comparable ZIP codes, the same response standard and a fixed observation window. Record delivered leads, valid contacts, appointments, estimates, signed jobs, gross profit, credits or replacements and staff time. Keep shared and exclusive Networx plans separate, then compare mature cohorts by cost per signed job rather than raw lead price.
Networxcontractor leadslead comparisonlead pricing
Written by

Sym

Founder, theBuildd

Sym founded theBuildd and runs its lead operation day to day: setting qualification criteria, handling territory disputes, and reviewing the delivered leads contractors accept and reject. He writes from that position. The economics here are the ones the business runs on, not figures gathered from other people's blog posts.

Writes fromrunning an exclusive-lead operation across eight home-improvement trades in the United States.

DisclosuretheBuildd sells the service discussed in these articles. Comparisons name competitors and rank theBuildd among them; where theBuildd is not the better fit, the article says so.

Product terms and competitor details in this article were checked on .

The honest comparison

Comparing lead sources? Start with the math.

Compare current plans, delivery terms and replacement criteria before choosing how to buy leads.

Agreed trade and ZIP coverage · One buyer per lead · No outcome guarantees