In this article
Under our published criteria, the best painting lead generation companies in 2026 start with theBuildd for residential painters. 99 Calls, PaintingLeads.com, Peak Marketing Service, Networx, Hook Agency, ProMatcher, Thumbtack, Bark and Angi complete the shortlist. theBuildd leads on one-buyer delivery, phone qualification, protected ZIP-and-trade territory, published plans and bad-lead replacement.
Disclosure: this comparison appears on theBuildd’s website, and theBuildd sells exclusive painting leads. That relationship is material. Every company faces the same written tests, every price model carries a source date and theBuildd receives a real limitation. The ranking is editorial judgment on those criteria, not an independent performance study.
Best painting lead generation companies at a glance
Prices and terms were checked on 20 August 2026. “No public rate card” means the provider requires a ZIP code, account setting, package choice or sales proposal before showing the painter’s price. It does not mean the service is expensive or inexpensive.
| Rank | Provider | Best fit | Lead ownership or channel | Published price model | Rate-card status and first-party source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | theBuildd (publisher) | Residential painters wanting phone-qualified, exclusive leads | One buyer; never shared, resold or recycled | $200 trial for 4 to 7 leads; $3,000 monthly, $2,000 every two weeks, or $3,500 monthly with SEO | Full public prices. theBuildd pricing page, checked 20 August 2026 |
| 2 | 99 Calls | Painters wanting managed search plus a visible organic lead price | Page says one-company delivery; its FAQ adds “whenever possible” | $33.99 per organic lead with Growth; organic leads free with Growth Pro; vendor-reported paid-channel ranges | Painting unit prices public; package fees require a quote. 99 Calls, “Painting Leads,” checked 20 August 2026 |
| 3 | PaintingLeads.com | Painting-only companies wanting pay-as-you-go territory control | Real-time painting enquiries; recipient count is not stated on the public page | Prepaid lead package followed by pay as you go; price depends on location | No public dollar rate card. PaintingLeads.com home page, checked 20 August 2026 |
| 4 | Peak Marketing Service | Sales teams able to fund a larger exclusive or shared campaign | Painting page offers exclusive and shared solutions to one to three suppliers | $85 to $175 per painting lead; general pricing page lists a $3,000 minimum investment | Painting range and general minimum public. Peak “Painting Leads” and “Pricing Information,” checked 20 August 2026 |
| 5 | Networx | Painters wanting shared and exclusive plans in one account | Separate Pay Per Lead and Exclusive Leads plans | Broad ranges of $10 to $100-plus shared and $15 to $120-plus exclusive; prepaid budget | Category ranges public; exact local painting price is inside the account. Networx help center and contractor page, checked 20 August 2026 |
| 6 | Hook Agency | Growth-mode painting companies wanting an owned SEO, website and paid-media system | Leads come through the painter’s marketing assets rather than a contact marketplace | Hook reports a broad $2,500 to $10,000 monthly agency-retainer band; ad spend can be separate | General budget range public; no painting-specific rate card. Hook painting-services and 2026 cost pages, checked 20 August 2026 |
| 7 | ProMatcher | Painters adding a free directory profile beside other channels | Profile enquiries may be direct; consumer requests can also route to partner networks | Basic profile and leads generated through it are free; paid sponsorship fees appear at purchase | Free model public; no promised volume or painting sponsorship rate. ProMatcher painter pages and Terms of Use, checked 20 August 2026 |
| 8 | Thumbtack | Small teams wanting adjustable marketplace spend | Customers may contact more than one professional | Exact lead prices plus a maximum lead price and weekly budget inside the pro account | No public painting rate card. Thumbtack Pro Community pricing guidance and Terms of Use, checked 20 August 2026 |
| 9 | Bark | Painters who want to inspect an enquiry before paying to respond | A general request can go to as many as five unspecified professionals | $2.35 standard price per credit; credits required vary by service and job scope | Credit rate public; painting contact cost varies. Bark US Pricing, credit guide and professional terms, checked 20 August 2026 |
| 10 | Angi | Painters wanting access to a large home-services marketplace | Angi says one service request can create multiple leads | Pros pay for consumer matches, advertising or other selected products | No public painter rate card. Angi pro FAQ, Q2 2026 results and Q4 2025 metrics definitions, checked 20 August 2026 |
The table is a price-model comparison, not a cheapest-to-most-expensive sort. A free profile, a $33.99 organic lead, a credit pack and a monthly marketing system leave very different work with the painting company. Ask for the number, not the adjective, then identify what the number buys.
Our methodology makes the ranking reproducible
This comparison is for a painting owner choosing a vendor, not for a marketer collecting brand names. A company had to offer painting enquiries, painter-specific marketing or a marketplace that supports painting work. It also needed enough first-party information to explain how the buyer is charged.
We ranked the companies against seven tests, in this order:
- Recipient count: whether one painter receives the enquiry, several can receive it, or the public page leaves that unanswered.
- Qualification: whether a person calls the homeowner, the platform collects request details, or the painter handles qualification after purchase.
- Price visibility: whether a buyer can see a current rate, range, credit price or plan before entering sales.
- Painting fit: whether interior, exterior, cabinet, deck, residential and commercial work can be separated.
- Territory control: whether service areas can be set by ZIP code, radius, county or another written boundary.
- Billing and remedy: what creates a charge, what happens to an invalid contact and how pausing or cancellation works.
- Evidence quality: whether current first-party pages agree with one another and state the important exceptions.
No vendor’s own page proves that its product closes better than every alternative. We therefore excluded self-published ratings, testimonials, close-rate claims, revenue claims and return-on-spend claims from the ranking. No review was fabricated, summarized or used as evidence.
We also did not convert monthly plans, credits or private bids into an invented cost per lead. That math needs volume and category inputs the public pages do not supply. A neat total made from guessed inputs would make this comparison look more precise and become less useful.
A usable price column shows the billing model, the public amount, the charge trigger, the recipient count and the date checked. A dollar figure without those fields is not comparable.
1. theBuildd: strongest documented fit for exclusive residential leads
theBuildd ranks first because exclusive delivery is the standard product, not an upgrade that changes by channel. Each homeowner goes to one buyer and is never shared, resold or recycled. The territory is locked by ZIP code and trade, giving the ownership promise a written geographic boundary.
A five-person in-house call team speaks with every residential homeowner before delivery. It checks consent and DNC compliance, confirms the painting request, and sends an accepted lead by text and email in under ten minutes. Bad leads are replaced.
The published plans and trial make the commitment visible. A one-time $200 trial includes four to seven exclusive, call-verified leads. Lead Generation is $3,000 monthly or $2,000 billed every two weeks. Lead Gen + SEO is $3,500 monthly, while LAUNCH25 makes the monthly Lead Generation plan $2,500.
Typical volume is 10 to 15 qualified leads a week, depending on trade, territory size and local demand. That range is not a fixed floor. theBuildd does not promise a close rate, booked-job count, revenue result or return on spend.
The caveat belongs beside the strengths. Put the selected ZIP codes, one-buyer rule, qualification questions and replacement standard into the order you accept. theBuildd is not a fit for commercial painting projects, a buyer requiring cash back for a rejected lead or a company needing a fixed volume floor.
Best fit: a residential painter that values human qualification, protected territory and predictable plan pricing more than maximum raw enquiry volume.
Source note: theBuildd pricing and painting pages, checked 20 August 2026.
2. 99 Calls: clearest painting-specific organic lead price
99 Calls earns second place because its painting page publishes channel-level prices. Organic SEO leads are $33.99 each with Growth and free with Growth Pro. The page also reports $98 to $249 for Google Ads leads and $32 to $58 for Local Services Ads leads.
Those paid ranges are the vendor’s own reported results, not independent market benchmarks. 99 Calls says it calculated them from client ad spend divided by vetted exclusive leads over the preceding 12 full months, using the 10th to 90th percentile. Market, season and job type can move a painter’s actual cost.
The offer combines lead generation with a website, listings, search campaigns, CRM tools and other services that vary by package. The organic unit price is public, but the package fee and paid media budget are not. A buyer needs all three figures before comparing monthly outlay.
Ownership language deserves the same care. The page says every lead is sent to one company, while its FAQ says leads are fully exclusive “whenever possible.” Ask 99 Calls to resolve that qualifier by channel in the proposal, including whether any form, call or partner-routed enquiry can be shared.
99 Calls can be a better fit than theBuildd for a painter seeking commercial enquiries or an outsourced search stack. Its page explicitly supports residential and commercial targeting, while theBuildd qualifies residential homeowners only.
Best fit: a painting company that wants a managed search system and a visible organic unit price, with the full package economics and channel ownership written down.
Source note: 99 Calls, “Painting Leads,” checked 20 August 2026.
3. PaintingLeads.com: painting-only focus with a private local rate
PaintingLeads.com has the narrowest trade focus in the list. Its public page says it only provides painting leads and covers interior and exterior work. New enquiries arrive by text and email, and the painter selects a service area.
The billing model is partly visible. A customer purchases a lead package, then can pay as leads arrive, set a budget and pause the account. The site says a charge applies to a valid lead larger than one room and provides a dashboard for requesting lead credits.
The missing field is price. PaintingLeads.com says the amount depends on location and requires a ZIP code before showing it. It also does not state on the public page how many painting companies can receive the same homeowner information.
That does not make the product unsuitable. It means the quote must do more work. Ask for the price by service, minimum package, auto-replenishment rule, recipient count, credit criteria, dispute window and treatment of unused prepaid funds.
Best fit: a painter who wants a specialist source, territory controls and pay-as-you-go delivery, and is willing to resolve ownership and price through a local quote.
Source note: PaintingLeads.com home page, checked 20 August 2026.
4. Peak Marketing Service: most visible higher-budget per-lead offer
Peak Marketing Service publishes an $85 to $175 range for painting leads. Its general pricing page gives a broader $80 to $175 range across industries, says most campaigns begin at $175 per lead and lists a $3,000 minimum investment.
This is unusually visible for a managed home-improvement lead campaign. Standard text or email delivery has no setup fee, unless CRM integration creates one. The general pricing page says there is no long-term contract and defines a qualified record by name, connected phone, email, address and project type.
The painting page markets both exclusive and shared solutions and says leads can go to one to three suppliers. The general pricing page separately says one business receives a submission in an exclusive campaign. A painter should select the campaign type explicitly rather than assume every Peak product has one-buyer delivery.
The $3,000 minimum also makes Peak a different test from a handful of marketplace contacts. It fits a team that can answer quickly, work a larger sample and maintain source-level reporting. A one-truck operator may prefer a smaller first commitment.
Best fit: a staffed painting sales team wanting a public per-lead range and enough budget to test a defined exclusive campaign at meaningful volume.
Source note: Peak Marketing Service, “Painting Leads” and “Pricing Information,” checked 20 August 2026.
5. Networx: clearest choice between shared and exclusive plans
Networx publishes broad account ranges instead of one painting price. Its help center says Pay Per Lead categories range from $10 to $100-plus and Exclusive Leads from $15 to $120-plus. The exact category and local coverage price appear in the dashboard or app.
Both products use a prepaid budget. The listed value is deducted as each lead arrives. Networx says the exclusive plan sends a lead to one contractor and that it tries to call and verify requests during business hours before attempting a live transfer.
Its contractor page includes exterior painting among supported jobs and says there are no annual or monthly membership fees. It also says the account has no contract and can be canceled without a cancellation fee. Confirm timing, unused balance treatment and any required notice in the order.
Networx is useful when a painter wants to test both ownership models without managing two vendors. Keep the plans in separate reports. Blending shared and exclusive contacts into one average removes the distinction the test is supposed to measure.
The exclusive-versus-shared lead comparison gives the recipient questions to ask before selecting a Networx plan.
Best fit: a painting business that wants prepaid budget control and the ability to compare shared and exclusive categories within one platform.
Source note: Networx, “How Much Do Leads Cost?”, “Exclusive Leads” and contractor enrollment page, checked 20 August 2026.
6. Hook Agency: strongest agency option for building owned demand
Hook Agency is not a contact marketplace. It sells painting website, SEO and paid-media services intended to make homeowners find the painter’s own brand. That difference can matter more than the nominal cost per lead for a company trying to build an asset it controls.
The painting-services page says Hook is generally best suited to growth-mode contractors above $2 million in revenue because the investment is significant. Its 2026 cost guide says home-service agency retainers commonly run from $2,500 to $10,000 monthly, with ad spend, software and content potentially separate.
That range is useful budget context, not a painting proposal or a Hook rate card. The exact scope, term, website cost, media budget and service ownership require a sales quote. Ask who owns the domain, site, ad accounts, analytics, call tracking, creative and campaign data after cancellation.
Hook is also the publisher of a prominent painting-agency listicle, but we did not use its self-ranking or the reviews repeated there. Its place here comes from the documented painting offer, clear growth-stage fit and explanation of agency economics.
Best fit: an established painter that wants an owned acquisition system and can fund agency fees plus media while organic visibility develops.
Source note: Hook Agency, “Painting Marketing Services” and “Digital Marketing Costs for Home Service Businesses in 2026,” checked 20 August 2026.
7. ProMatcher: useful free profile, with limits on the word free
ProMatcher says its basic business profile is free and that leads generated through that profile are free. Its exterior and house-painting pages repeat that there is no trial cutoff or credit-card requirement for those profile enquiries.
That is narrower than unlimited free painting leads. ProMatcher promises exposure, not a lead quantity. Its current terms say members may receive any number of requests, calls or clicks, including zero, and that it does not pre-screen consumers or promise sales.
The terms also allow consumer service requests to be matched through partner networks, including Angi, Networx, Thumbtack and Modernize. The partner’s terms can apply when that happens. Ask how a profile enquiry is labeled, whether it stays inside ProMatcher and whether any paid partner offer is opt-in.
ProMatcher articles cite $28 to $49 as a broad exterior-painting lead range, but that is educational market commentary from 2019. It is not a current ProMatcher charge. We therefore do not place it in the price column.
Best fit: a painter adding a no-cost directory profile without counting on it as the sole or predictable source of new estimates.
Source note: ProMatcher, “Find Contractor Leads,” painter lead pages and Terms of Use updated 24 March 2025, checked 20 August 2026.
8. Thumbtack: best for adjustable marketplace testing
Thumbtack lets a professional set maximum lead prices and a weekly budget. Current administrator guidance in its Pro Community says the exact lead price selected is the price charged unless a discount or promotion applies. The settings determine which jobs the painter can receive and the total weekly spend.
There is no public painting rate card. Targeting prices live inside the pro experience and can vary by job and county. That makes the platform easy to adjust after onboarding but difficult to compare from public pages before an account exists.
Thumbtack is not a one-buyer product. Its official materials say customers may contact more than one professional, although the platform limits the number to a few. A painter pays at the connection point, so an interested homeowner who also requests another estimate remains a billable opportunity.
The strength is a small, controllable marketplace test. Narrow interior, exterior, cabinet and deck preferences, set service boundaries carefully and hide the business when the estimating calendar is full. Ask which contacts qualify for an automatic account adjustment under the current policy.
Best fit: a smaller painting company that wants adjustable weekly spend and can respond quickly in a competitive marketplace.
Source note: Thumbtack Pro Community pricing guidance and Terms of Use, checked 20 August 2026.
9. Bark: best for choosing enquiries before paying to respond
Bark sends matching requests to professionals, who decide which ones merit a paid response. The current US help center lists a standard price of $2.35 per credit. The number of credits needed changes with the service, project size and scope, and appears before the painter commits.
That is a published currency price, not a published painting-lead price. Multiplying $2.35 by a guessed credit quantity would invent the missing input. The actual contact cost must be read from each painting request or credit package.
Bark’s US professional terms say a general request may go to as many as five unspecified professionals. Credits bought for those general requests after 1 November 2025 last three months. Credit subscriptions can require 30 days’ notice, so a one-time pack and a recurring purchase need separate treatment.
The ability to inspect a job first is the real strength. It helps a painter reject an unsuitable location or service before spending credits. The tradeoff is that several professionals may inspect and buy the same opportunity.
Best fit: a selective painter willing to review each request and price the direct competition into the decision.
Source note: Bark US Pricing, “What Is a Credit and How Much Does It Cost?” and professional terms updated 29 October 2025, checked 20 August 2026.
10. Angi: broad marketplace reach with private pro pricing
Angi remains a relevant painting marketplace because homeowners can request quotes and compare local professionals. Its pro materials say service professionals pay for advertising and consumer connections. The current public pages do not show a national painting lead price for a prospective pro.
The recipient model is visible in Angi’s investor definitions. A service request can result in multiple leads, where each lead is a connection with a professional. That makes a marketplace painting contact structurally different from a lead seller promising one buyer and no resale.
Angi’s Q2 2026 results and Q4 2025 metrics supplement are useful because they define the commercial event without pretending every request becomes a job. They do not replace the enrollment proposal, deposit, category price, contract term or cancellation language a painter will receive.
Angi may suit a company with a fast sales desk that values broad marketplace demand. It is a weaker fit for an owner who requires a public rate and one-recipient delivery before taking a sales call.
Best fit: a painting team prepared to compete for marketplace requests and audit every enrollment term before funding the account.
Source note: Angi pro FAQ, Q2 2026 results and Q4 2025 Metrics Supplement, checked 20 August 2026.
Price model decides which risk stays with the painter
Painting lead providers sell several different products under one noun. The pricing model tells you which uncertainty the vendor keeps and which one moves into your office. Comparing invoice amounts before mapping that transfer produces a tidy table and a bad buying decision.
| Buying model | What creates the charge | Risk carried by the painting company | Best operating fit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Flat monthly exclusive plan | Subscription period | Demand can vary while the invoice stays fixed | Owner wanting predictable billing and protected territory |
| Exclusive pay per lead | Delivered record meeting written criteria | Contact effort and interpretation of qualification | Persistent estimator or inside-sales team |
| Shared pay per lead | Marketplace connection or delivered contact | Speed, direct competition and follow-up load | Fast-response sales desk |
| Credit marketplace | Credits redeemed to contact a requester | Credit expiry, selection judgment and competing responders | Selective buyer reviewing jobs one by one |
| Free directory profile | Consumer discovers or is matched to a profile | Unpredictable volume and limited control | Painter adding an incremental channel |
| Managed website, SEO and ads | Retainer, setup, media and sometimes lead fees | Ramp time, attribution and ownership of assets | Established company building branded demand |
A cheap shared contact may be useful to an office built for a race. A higher one-buyer price may suit an owner-estimator who cannot chase four competitors. Neither label predicts profit on its own. The right comparison starts with the sales process already in place.
Put these terms into the accepted order
A source page proves what was published on the check date. The proposal and accepted order govern the purchase. Use the same diligence list with every provider, including theBuildd, and resolve conflicts between a sales page, FAQ, terms document and salesperson before payment.
- Name every recipient. State how many painters receive one homeowner, plus any affiliate, resale, recycling or channel exception.
- Define the painting work. Separate interior, exterior, cabinets, decks, drywall, commercial work, project minimums and excluded requests.
- Describe qualification. Record who asked the questions, whether that happened by phone or form and which answers disqualify the enquiry.
- Identify the billing event. Distinguish delivery, connected call, missed call, message, purchased contact, appointment and subscription period.
- Write the remedy and deadline. List wrong numbers, duplicates, renters, wrong areas, wrong trades, existing customers and the evidence needed for an account credit or replacement.
- Cap the spending mechanism. Cover prepaid balances, automatic replenishment, ad spend, overages, credit expiry and charges after pausing.
- State the exit. Include notice method, effective date, final charge, asset handoff and treatment of unused funds or credits.
Our broader lead-company buyer checklist adds questions about handoff speed, references and realistic volume. Copy the final answers into the order. An email promise that never reaches the controlling document is hard to enforce operationally.
Run a controlled test before increasing spend
Choose the smallest paid commitment that can expose contract and workflow problems. That might be theBuildd’s $200 trial, a marketplace budget, a Bark credit pack or the opening portion of a larger campaign. Hook and Peak may require a different test because setup and monthly scope are part of the product.
Tag the source before the first enquiry arrives. Record delivery time, first response time, valid contact, estimate booked, estimate completed, job sold, job value and gross profit. Use a reason code whenever an opportunity stops. Memory tends to turn one noisy week into a verdict.
Keep your own process consistent. If one vendor receives a callback in two minutes and another waits until the following morning, the trial mostly measures routing. Use the same coverage hours, call cadence, estimator availability and minimum-job rule wherever the product allows it.
Review cost per valid contact, completed estimate and sold job. The contractor lead-cost framework explains why invoice cost alone cannot settle the comparison. Do not publish a close-rate conclusion from a handful of enquiries, and do not combine shared and exclusive products in one result.
Judge billing defects separately from sales losses. A disconnected number may trigger a documented remedy. A valid homeowner choosing another painter usually reflects the commercial risk of the product, not an invalid contact. The distinction keeps the test fair to both sides.
Match the vendor to the operating model
For residential painters prioritizing one-buyer delivery, a live qualification call, protected ZIP codes and visible plan prices, theBuildd is the strongest documented fit under this methodology. Get its exclusivity and replacement language into the order just as you would with any competitor.
Choose 99 Calls when a managed search system and published organic unit price matter, particularly if commercial targeting is needed. Choose PaintingLeads.com for a painting-only source after obtaining the local price and recipient count. Choose Peak when the team can support a larger per-lead test.
Networx suits a buyer comparing shared and exclusive plans under one account. Hook fits a larger painter building owned demand rather than buying individual contacts. ProMatcher makes sense as free incremental exposure, while Thumbtack, Bark and Angi require marketplace-ready response and careful spend controls.
Pricing and vendor terms move. Recheck the rate card quarterly and date every proposal used in the decision. The most useful shortlist is not the one with the longest vendor list. It is the one where the unanswered cells have been turned into written terms.
Compare ownership, qualification and pricing side by side
See how theBuildd's one-buyer painting leads and published plans compare with the written offers already on your desk.